Big Readers Forum Index

Works we studied in school
Page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Big Readers Forum Index -> Bookish stuff by category -> Literary issues
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Please Register and Login to this forum to stop seeing this advertising.

Posted:     Post subject:

TheRejectAmidHair

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:29 am    Post subject: Works we studied in school  Reply with quote

I know we’ve all discussed this before, many times, but it’s possibly a subject worth revisiting.

I was trying to recall the works I studied in my English class. I attended Bishopbriggs High School, a comprehensive school just outside Glasgow.  Although it was a comprehensive, we had streaming within each subject.

In Scotland (at least in those days), one sat the O-grade after 4 years in secondary school, and the “Higher” grade exams after another year (i.e. there’s only a single year between O-grade and Higher).

These are the works I most certainly remember studying in class. I am sure I am missing a few.

Studied by O-grade stage:

Shakespeare: Julius Caesar, The Merchant of Venice, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Macbeth, Twelfth Night

Barrie: The Admirable Crichton

Hines: A Kestrel for a Knave
Sillitoe: The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Runner
Steinbeck: The Pearl
Iain Crichton Smith: Consider the Lilies
Eliot: Silas Marner
Orwell: Animal Farm

Owen: Dulce et decorum est pro patria mori
Anthem for doomed youth
Dylan Thomas: Especially when the October wind
Shelley: Ozymandias
… some poems by Elizabeth Bishop & by e.e.cummings that I can’t now recall …

Studied by Higher stage:

Shakespeare: Hamlet
Brecht: The Caucasian Chalk Circle

Katherine Mansfield: The Life of Ma Parker (short story)
Angus Wilson: Necessity’s Child (short story)
Grassic Gibbon: Sunset Song

Orwell: various essays

Keats: Ode to a Nightingale
Keats: On first looking into Chapman’s Homer
Burns: Holy Willie’s Prayer